Eoin Morgan captains as England players return for T20 series

 Eoin Morgan captains as England players return for T20 series

England have named nine players that were forced to self-isolate during the recent one-day series with Pakistan in their T20 squad for the upcoming series between the countries.


Eoin Morgan will captain a squad that includes Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler and Jason Roy but Ben Stokes is rested.

Also included are some of the players who impressed in the ODI series, such as Saqib Mahmood and Matt Parkinson.

The three-match series begins at Trent Bridge on Friday 16 July.

A Covid-19 outbreak in the England camp forced the entire first-choice group into quarantine before the ODI series but the emergency replacements recorded a superb 3-0 clean sweep.

Stokes, who rushed his return from finger surgery to lead the shadow side and wore heavy bandaging throughout, is not included for the T20 games.

Mark Wood, Chris Woakes and Sam Curran are among those sitting out the series.

Head coach Chris Silverwood will also skip the series to take a family break, having cut one short to lead the side during the ODI series, leaving assistant Paul Collingwood to take charge.

Collingwood had originally been scheduled to do so in the ODIs but was among those sent into isolation.

“The Royal London Series success against Pakistan showcased the exciting depth of talent we have developed in men’s white-ball cricket,” said Silverwood.

“We have selected a T20 squad that sees the return of many of our most experienced players after their period of isolation.

“Additionally, we have rewarded some of the players involved in the 50-over series win with selection which allows us to manage multi-format players as we prepare for the much-anticipated Test series against India.

“I would like to express my thanks to Ben Stokes and the players for their efforts over the last week, and the counties for their support in getting this series on.”

England T20 squad to face Pakistan:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex – captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Tom Curran (Surrey), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Matt Parkinson (Lancashire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), David Willey (Yorkshire)

Spread the love

Related post

Open chat
Need Help?
We are Online now

Do you need any assistance? we work 24/7 and we can assist you right now.